The Avengers: God Calls Us to Be Heroes

Heroes

As Director Fury once said, it is an old fashioned idea.

We live in an era of nuclear bombs, world governments, and seemingly infinite consumerism. Sometimes we wonder, is there any room left for heroes?

Personally, I’m with Director Fury. I’m not putting all my faith in weapons or money.

I still believe in heroes, and so does God.

As a part of my mission to “find God in unexpected ways in everyday life,” every week I’m exploring a Christian tie-in or themes in a popular mainstream movie. Last week, Melissa, the author of the blog Broken.HEARTED, asked her sons what movies they’d like to see me take on next. As you may have guessed, at the top of the list was The Avengers.

My response? Challenge accepted.
The Avengers movie poster
The Avengers movie poster

I had the same problem with this movie that I had with Avatar last week. God’s everywhere in this film. Maybe you don’t see it yet, but trust me, you’ll find him if you look for him. After all, God promises that we’ll seek him and find him if we seek him with our whole hearts (Jeremiah 29:11-13).

For the purpose of this challenge, however, I’m going to focus on what Captain America calls the “sacrifice play.”

The-Avengers-Climax-Captain-America-the-avengers-34726286-1920-1080

It’s one thing to press a button and blow up a bomb by remote control. It’s quite another thing to put yourself on the line to help others. That’s what it truly means to be a hero, and no one does heroism better than God.

Almost from the outset, the world was in trouble. No matter how you choose to interpret the book of Genesis in the Bible, either literally or figuratively, the take home point is the same. We as human beings were temped by evil. We made some mistakes, and, because of those bad choices, the door opened for Satan and all his cohorts to come flooding in.

Sound familiar?

Loki
Loki

*Spoiler Alter* Loki, our favorite god-like villain fallen from grace, comes to earth and (you guessed it) opens a door for all hell to come streaming into downtown New York City.

Alien portal opens into New York
Alien portal opens into New York

Now, I won’t spoil everything for those of you who haven’t seen this incredible film, but trust me, it isn’t pretty.

New York is turned into a battleground
New York is turned into a battleground

The truth is, since the fall of mankind, the world’s been a messed up battleground just like the streets of New York in this film. But here’s the amazing thing. As soon as that portal opened and all hell broke loose, God made us a promise.

God promised that he would sacrifice himself to close that portal.

For this is how God loved the world: He gave his one and only Son, so that everyone who believes in him will not perish but have eternal life.  God sent his Son into the world not to judge the world, but to save the world through him.” John 3:16-17 NLT

As if that wasn’t enough, when Jesus ascended to heaven after defeating death, he sent us his Holy Spirit. When we accept Jesus as the Lord of our lives (when we make him our “leader” so to speak) his Spirit fills our hearts and lends us power.

That’s right. When we accept Christ into our lives, we suddenly have super powers.

Jesus said it himself. Because of his Spirit living inside of us, we’d be able to follow in his footsteps and do miraculous things. (John 14:12)

God wants to give us those super powers, and he wants us to use them to continue the fight until the battle is completely won. The only limit on that power is our willingness to take action when God calls his Avengers to assemble.

We must be willing to make the “sacrifice play.”

“… If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross daily, and follow me. ” Luke 9:23 NLT

 And since we are his children, we are his heirs. In fact, together with Christ we are heirs of God’s glory. But if we are to share his glory, we must also share his suffering.” Romans 8:17 NLT

That’s right. If we are going to follow Jesus, we sometimes must be willing to make the “sacrifice play” just as he did.

Tony Stark's final moments?
Tony Stark’s final moments?

Of course, that doesn’t always mean laying down our lives. *Another spoiler alert* After all, Iron Man didn’t actually die. Still, part of following Christ means that we have to be prepared to follow him wherever he may lead. We have to be prepared to sacrifice when he calls on us to be his heroes in a fallen world.

Sometimes it’s as simple as giving the extra change in our pocket to a stranger in need.

Sometimes it means giving a few minutes of our time when someone needs us to call an ambulance.

Sometimes it means offering a shoulder to cry on.

Sometimes it means standing by a friend as they battle cancer.

We’re called to be heroes in a million different ways. Just as the Avengers each have different super powers, God’s gifted each of us differently to serve both him and the world (Romans 12:6, 1 Peter 4:10-11, 1 Corinthians 12:4-11).

It does not matter how we serve. What matters is that we answer when God calls.
Thor and Captain America fight to save New York
Thor and Captain America fight to save New York

In one way or another, God calls each of us to be his Avengers in a world under siege. Will you answer? Will you be a hero? Because if Jesus showed us anything, it’s that no worldly power can overcome evil. Not really.


Bombs cannot save the world. Only Jesus can. Tweet:


We are his body here on earth, and we are called to action.

Are you willing to be his Avenger?

If you’re still on the fence about whether you want Jesus in your life, I encourage you to learn more. However good you may think your life is right now, it’s nothing compared to what it can be with God. Check out https://www.fallingplates.com/ to see what I mean.

If you have accepted Christ into your life, then please know this. There is no service that is too small to make a difference. For ideas on how you can get started, visit the Random Acts of Kindness website.

Remember, you can be a hero to someone today through God’s power that’s living inside of you. Use that power today. No matter who you are, you can do something!

God bless you today on whatever adventure he brings your way,

Audrey Cunningham

Want to join me in my mission to find God in everyday life?

Join the Peanut Butter Community to receive awesome extras delivered right to your inbox. Don’t worry, there’s no SPAM! We’re here to help you grow in your faith with an amazing community of other believers. Read more about it here.

What ways are you planning on making a difference this week?

Do you have any ideas you can share that might inspire others? I’d love to hear them in the comments section below!

Here’s a Matthew West’s song “Do Something” to help you get fired up.

12 thoughts on “The Avengers: God Calls Us to Be Heroes

    1. Thanks for saying that! I was wondering if I was even nuttier than I thought! When there’s more than one person saying something, folks tend to say they’re starting a movement. When it’s just one person, thought, folks tend to just say that person’s a lunatic. I prefer the idea of starting a “finding God in Hollywood” movement myself. White straight jackets aren’t really my style. 😉 If you ever decide to write your own post along these lines, let me know. I love hearing other people’s ideas! Otherwise, I’m still accepting movie nominations. Just comment on https://audreydcunningham.wordpress.com/2015/08/21/monday-night-movies-with-pbj-now-showing-send-in-your-nominations/ Thanks so much for stopping by, Jackie! God bless you. 🙂

      Like

  1. I love it! Thank you Audrey! I can’t wait to discuss it over dinner tonight with my boys! You came up with some conclusions and questions that I had not drawn. I can’t wait to ask the boys how they can be God’s avenger!

    Blessings to you!
    Melissa

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hope you all have fun. If you think of it, drop me a line and let me know how it goes. I’m thinking about launching a study guide to help parents, youth pastors, etc. use mainstream movies to talk with teens about their faith. If your boys get stuck on something or if something goes over really well, I try to keep that in mind when I start working on that project. Just email me at GiveUsThisDayOurPBJ@gmail.com if you have the chance. Thanks for bringing the boy’s nominations, Melissa. Praying for you and them! Audrey

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I saw your comment on the Community Pool and thought I’d drop by. I’m glad I did. I’ve never thought about the Avengers that way. This is a great way to discuss biblical principles with kids (especially boys). Stories stick with kids more than just listing facts. I won’t think of the Avengers the same again. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Audrey! Thank you for this perspective. My kids and I love all the Marvel movies, and I have never thought of them in a Christian light before. They do, however, always bring a sense of peace and hope in the face of random, inexplicable pain and suffering. I love that the heroes are flawed, that they argue amongst themselves and still cohere when it counts. They represent the best potential and also the reality of humanity. Thanks for leading this reflection, and I hope you also enjoy the other Marvel movies! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Dish It Out

