“Monday Night Movies with PB&J” Now Showing! Send in Your Nominations

Hi everyone! I need your help for a new weekly feature here at Give Us This Day Our PB&J.

I’m taking my mission of “finding God in unexpected ways in everyday life” to Hollywood. Each Monday, I will post a blog article on a popular mainstream movie. But here’s the catch… my quest will be to “find God” in that movie even if the plot has nothing to do with God, faith, or Christianity.

I’ll be looking for Christian themes or tie-ins that boggle the mind. For example, I bet you never knew that one character in Disney Pixar’s Inside Out was just like Christ. Don’t believe me? Check it out.

inside-out1 headquarters

Did you know that Disney’s Wreck-It Ralph is a modern day adaptation of one of the Apostle Paul’s most famous lessons? No? Read it here.

Video game characters

But there’s one problem. A weekly feature like this needs fresh ideas to keep it going. Here’s where you come in.

Send me your movie suggestions! If you’d like to challenge me to write about a particular movie, then submit its name below in the comments section.

Please know that I’ll be more likely to accept your challenge if the movie is clean (preferably PG). I also have a weakness for all things animated, especially if they’re from Blue Sky, Disney, DreamWorks, Illumination, and Pixar.

And remember, I do love a real challenge. The more apparently secular the film, the better the throw down, so don’t go easy on me! Submit your nominations below!

Thank you all, and God bless.

Audrey Cunningham

Don’t forget, this will be a weekly feature. To make sure you don’t miss anything, sign up to receive email updates of new posts as they become available!
11 thoughts on ““Monday Night Movies with PB&J” Now Showing! Send in Your Nominations

  1. I was going to try to stump you with something like The Wicker man–it being about pagans. But then I realized the protagonist was christian. How about any Hayao Miyazaki films since you like animated? Or, and last suggestion, The Elephant Man (PG)?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I have! I’m so glad you were able to see it in 3D! What an experience. Hopefully they’re re-release it when the sequel comes out. In the mean time, would you like your Avatar with a little PB&J? That’s a challenge I could really get into. 🙂

      Like

  2. Well, the first thing that came to mind was Wall-E since you especially wanted some Disney animation. I’ll second nolence’s recommendation for Hayo Miyazaki’s work with Studio Ghibli, and specify Howl’s Moving Castle? It is stunning visually, and the Christian imagery is not at first evident. It is about a battle between good and evil, but beyond that, I think you will have to really look.

    Any movie version of the Robin Hood legend would work. I’m partial to the Errol Flynn AND the Disney animated versions. These don’t really provide a tremendous challenge as RH is a clear Christ figure. And since we’re talking Christ figure, To Kill a Mockingbird is the novel I use to teach the concept of the Christ figure in literature, and the movie version is wonderful and PG.

    I have one movie recommendation for adults–so I don’t think it’s what you’re looking for, but it’s sooo good–, not that it’s risque, even though it is R rated as I recall more for “thematic elements”, just that kids wouldn’t get it. The Christian imagery is fairly prominent, as you’d expect in a movie titled Jesus of Montreal. But this movie was not intended to be a religious film; it was a secular movie. It’s about 15 years old now, and in French. I watched it many years ago and still remember it. It is about how an actor who playing Christ in an avant-garde Passion is affected by the role.

    If you’re interested in some television shows, I could really challenge you there. (One of my real “out there” TV suggestions is not at all PG, though.) One of my TV suggestions aired on regular network, though.

    (OK. So, yes, you hit my chatty button. I love this idea! My husband and I were talking about this very thing just a week or so ago!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for your nominations, Tracey! Those are some good ones, and I’m definitely looking forward to taking at least some of them on. If you come up with more ideas later, feel free to keep adding to the list. The more the merrier! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Audrey,
    My first son would like to nominate the movie “The Avengers”. Either the first or second , “The Age of Ultron.
    My second son would like to nominate “Ant Man”.
    Good luck!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh how delicious. 🙂 I’ve seen Avengers, and my wheels are already turning there. Haven’t seen Age of Ultron or Ant Man yet, though I’ve been wanting to. Thanks, Melissa, for the excuse to bump movie night up on my priority list! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Dish It Out

