One Surprising Thing Klutzy Canines and Righteous People Share: A Hilarious Illustration of Proverbs 24:16

I couldn’t breathe for laughing at this video compilation of canine fails (see below). A part of me thought laughing was rude. I mean, shouldn’t I feel nothing but sympathy for the French Bulldog that face planted in the sand… and who then just kept rolling (and rolling and rolling) head over heels like a runaway tire? Yes, I was yucking it up completely at their expense, but the rest of me convincingly argued that these pups wouldn’t mind. So yeah, I just kept watching (and it was so worth it too).

The amazing thing about dogs is that they never seem to stop and sulk when they do something crazy, like back flipping onto the flat of their backs instead of actually catching that Frisbee. They don’t stop to dwell on it. They just get back up and try again.

It then hit me that I was looking at a hilarious illustration of Proverbs 24:16: “…for though [the righteous] fall seven times, they will rise again….” NRSV It’s amazing to me that what makes a person righteous isn’t a certain lack of screwing up. After all, we all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God (Romans 3:23). Jesus has already forgiven all our mistakes, but it’s up to us to decide whether or not to get back up.

To be honest, I fall down a lot more than seven times despite my best efforts, and it ain’t always pretty. In fact, I think I often look like that little Frenchie, but like these dogs, I do my best to shake it off and just keep coming. As Paul himself put it, “…Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 3:13-14 NIV

So today, when you commit your own version of one of these canine epic fails, take your lead from Paul and man’s best friend. Shake it off, get that cookie, forget whoever’s watching, and get on with enjoying life. God bless you, and enjoy watching man’s best friend face planting (coughs), I mean, getting back up.

For more challenging and uplifting articles, check out my Home page, and don’t forget to follow my blog so you can receive new articles as they become available!

 

Dish It Out

